Letter U in the style of Thu May Tit

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With this letter it first started off as an L however I soon realised that I had already done an L so I changed the letter to a U which meant adding the tree on the side. It was a lengthy progress of getting the detail in and it got annoying very quickly as some of the lines weren’t as curved and straight as you wanted however I like the way the curved of the legs and hair all move into the leaves and trees and form the letter.

What I dislike about the drawing is the tree I think it’s very bland and next time I’d probably follow through the whole drawing process of drawing with a pencil as using a pencil ruins the effect I think and you just want to see the result of what the drawing looks like in pen.

I did think about adding colour however I think this may ruin the drawing that I’ve got so far. When I minimise this to fit into my book I think it will look very effective as the detail within this image will be very small and look amazing I think and I don’t think the tree will look as bland as it does on a huge scale as everything will be smaller.

I looked at Thu May Tit and the Titan Gia for inspiration on this drawing. Gia was a titan that ruled the lands, soi anything including land was her domain. The reason the women is so large in this drawing is because of that because my plan originally was to make the women quite small and blend her arms, hair and legs into the forestation around you. Instead I made the woman larger and the forestation smaller and then when you put the tree next to the drawing of the women the tree is the same size, this gives the drawing an unrealistic look to it. Even though the drawing is quite simple it looks very detailed as its very compact.

Feedback

