Evaluation

Introduction-

During the 7 weeks I aimed to produce all the letters of the alphabet in different fonts, sizes and using different media. We were asked to complete all the letters of the alphabet and to then create our own little alphabet book with them. I approached this project by creating different letters in a random order and picking the letter that most fitted the subject at that moment in time, I also approached this with the mind frame of using different materials, media, techniques and textures within my work and hopefully to get a more successful result than with my self project.

I was looking  forward to this project as I could basically with the 13 letters left create the kind of letters I wanted, in a style that I felt more comfortable with which I did I explored different aspects of the subject and found new techniques I enjoy using and will use in the future and then old techniques that I enhanced on and tried to make better. I was also looking forward to experimenting with different media’s and looking at new artists that I hadn’t looked at before. Within this new project I wanted to develop better time management skills and try and get dead lines met and not be doing a lot of the work at the end of the project at night.

Summary of Research-

Within my project I did used some photography as it inspired some of my pieces of work and helped me form the shape of some of the work which included the curves and formations of leaves and trees. It is important to get your own research found as this can open your eyes to new techniques that you hadn’t thought originally about using it, for example most of the artists that inspired me the most were found outside of class as these artists where art pieces I have looked at before maybe and as my skills have developed throughout the project I’ve looked at artists I’m fond of or are comfortable with styling my work in their style and just making it better because my skills have adapted. The artists that inspired me are called Thu May Tit, The Book of Cells and The book of Hours, these artists inspired me by helping me create my favourite pieces of work that have got the best compositions, the most amount of detail and work I’m happy to say I’m proud of. The artists inspired me as the books were historical factors and I love history so the detail and nature look to these pieces inspired me and the fantasy look as well also inspired me as I like fantasy and fairytale pieces of work, Thu May Tits work inspired me by using my nature work and creating that into a block colour and it was very simple to draw however the end result looks amazing and very detailed especially if we will be minimising it.

There are clear links between mine and the artists work for example Thu May Tits work I have used a naked female body, the curved lines and nature bases to form a letter like the artist did. The Book of Hours has clear links as I’ve included the curved lines of the branches and only a little bright colour within my work, I’ve included a lot of detail like the artists did. With The Book of Cells I have used Keltic knots, dragons that present vikings and the crosses from the viking era that is meant to be a T. For research I mainly used the internet as it’s the only source I have practically available to me however I used different kind of things on the internet for example youtube videos, wording, GIF’s and images.

Experimentation and development-

I took part in stitching workshops, lasercutting workshops, wire workshop, quilling workshop, animation workshop. I learnt new skills like sewing, quilling, animation and I developed my drawing skills and sewing skills. What went wrong was I burnt myself when I was creating some of the art pieces, sometimes I didn’t like the composition, with the wire workshop I really struggled to construct a letter as wire work isn’t my strongest point and doing sculptures of letters isn’t my strongest point either and I struggled quite a bit with that as I have a low patience and get bored easily. I moved forward from these errors by realising where I had gone wrong and asking for advice on where to go with them or trying again and seeing what the drawing may look if the composition was different, I experimented.  The workshop I enjoyed the most was the sewing workshop I found this relaxing and I enjoyed sewing and then this developing on to make my own sewn letter I enjoyed making that as well. Sewing is one of my stronger points and in the workshop I learnt new skills and developed old ones.

Reflection-

I think I met all the deadlines, or I tried to at the very best. I most enjoyed seeing the end result of some of my drawings and I enjoyed the sewing. I don’t think I managed my time as well as I could have as I did struggle with some of the timing and some of the pieces of work I did took longer than expected. Outside of class I got easily distracted and don’t think I managed my time as well either however I probably managed it better than on the last project and as I was late for some of the lessons I was a bit confused on where I stood with some of the work and missed some of the artists.

If I had to re-do this project I would re-do it by maybe doing more drawings manage my time better and make sure my pieces of work didn’t take as long as some of the pieces have taken and when given the work do it that night If I can or try and complete it in class. Where I see my work progressing at this point is that I’ve found some of my strengths and weaknesses within my work and I think I will try and develop on these strengths to get them stronger and re-use them in up coming projects and then with my weaker spots either develop further into them and try and become better through practice or try and avoid using them or approach the style of work in a different way to help me succeed more.

On the next project I will manage my time better, try and make sure some of my work isn’t as lengthy as it has been within this project and try and get more drawings involved as I enjoy drawing especially on this project and I wish I had done more drawings within the project as I love the development of a drawing and the end piece.

 

Feedback

